Travellust.


Eighteen Hours In Paris.
15 May, 2007, 11:05 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

chox1.jpg

Some things, no matter how small, can make you laugh at the drop of a dime. After spending the weekend in Paris and Brussels, I’ve found that conversations with Jessica only require a few phrases to make us both double over from laughter. These are taken completely out of context, and any reader will certainly not find them funny, but to me, they are priceless and to be missed when I leave: “Can we talk about that?”, “Uh-ohs!”, “Please hold.”, and finally, “Just kidding!”.

All of the background info aside, Jessica and I hoped on a train for our last weekend away in Europe before we depart Switzerland on Thursday. There are some things that one must note when taking a train to any destination more than a few hours away:
It might not have a dining car, but more than likely a dining-cart.
Ipods and other means of entertainment are crucial if you got up at 4:30 am.
Nothing that leaves you or your company’s mouth is valid if you got up at 4:30 am, for at least an hour.

We arrived in Paris in the afternoon, absolutely famished (i.e. no dining car), but had to make a pit stop at a little shop recommended by David Lebovitz called A l’Etoile d’Or.
Inside, with list in hand, we met with the little Heidi-braided hair lady who was very eager to show us her supreme supply of chocolates and caramels. Though we struggled to communicate in French, all I had to do was say the name of the chocolatier, and I was in business.

Four bars of Bernachon chocolate, a handful of truffles, which I hand picked while wearing a white glove (talk about service!), and a fine selection of Le Roux caramels later, we were on our way to eat lunch.

We arrived at Le Castiglione, a restaurant on Rue St. Honore that I was eager to get back to after just going a couple of weekends ago. Their menu has several offerings, but I come here only for their burger (for which they are “known” for, and the price accurately reflects), fries and a Kronenburg 1964 on tap. The burger, served at a suggested medium temperature, has shredded lettuce, cheese, and a yummy sauce that a frequent McDonald’s-go-er might call a “special” sauce, but far exceeds it. The flavor is rich (no well-done here) and thought it might not be intended, should be eaten with a fork and knife to cut down on the messy-factor.

After re-fueling, we jetted off across the river in search of more sweets. We were on a tight time schedule, so I decided that I should go to a shop that I hadn’t had time to pay my monetary respects to during my last visit, Patrick Rodger. As if the chocolate isn’t enough to make you swoon the design of the store and their packaging will seal the deal. I rounded up another handful of chocolates, truffles and caramels, all of which were modestly priced. After paying, the lady who had assisted me, insisted I try a chocolate, which she called “lima” and lent a sweet citrusy flavor.

That evening we dined at Janou. Our native friend told us that it was always packed, and believe you me, if it’s packed with diners at 11 pm, something must be good. I had a great goat cheese and spinach salad followed by a spring risotto with sumptuous scallops. I finished my meal with a Mariage hot tea, and the four of us shared a very rich chocolate mousse. I highly recommend the mousse, as the waiter will come to your table with a dish in which to put it and scoop it out of a large bowl until you stay stop. A few words of advice here: don’t let your eyes exceed the expectations of your stomach; a couple (well maybe a few…) spoonfuls will do you fine.

All in all, I had a fabulous time, but as with each time I find myself departing the city of lights, any amount time never seems like enough.

Black Book:

Le Castiglione
Known for its cheeseburgers.
235 Rue St.-Honoré

Patrick Rodger
108, Boulevard St. Germain

A l’Etoile d’Or
30 rue Fontaine (9th)

Métro: Blanche

Closed Sundays.

Janou
2, Rue Roger Verlomme

The Five Hotel (in the Latin District)
3, rue Flatters
75005 Paris

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

